6 Best New Spanish-Language Albums in 2021: Staff Picks

This article is available in Spanish.

Despite the devastating impact of the COVID-19 pandemic in the music industry, 2021 is still a big year for Spanish-language music. The Latin music boom has “not yet reached its peak.” In fact, more and more Latin artists are releasing albums and singles than ever before, and there is a growing number of English-speaking musicians who collaborate with Spanish-language artists. Two such examples are American pop singer Billie Eilish who collaborated with Rosalía for “Lo Vas a Olvidar,” and Canadian singer The Weeknd who enlisted the help of Rosalía in “Blinding Lights (Remix),” which came out late in 2020.

We combed through the list of Spanish-language albums released in the United States, Spain and Mexico in 2021, and these are the standouts:

“¿A Dónde Vamos?” by Morat

“¿A Dónde Vamos?” by Morat

“¿A Dónde Vamos?” is the second studio album of the Colombian band Morat, whose members are currently based in Madrid. It comes after their debut album “Balas Perdidas,” which was released in 2019.

In “¿A Dónde Vamos?” the band collaborated with other Latin musicians like Colombian singers Sebastián Yatra and Andrés Cepeda, Mexican actress Danna Paola and Chilean singer Cami. The record sounds different from their debut release.; it feels more mature and refined.

Our favorite tracks from the album are “Al Aire” and “Bajo La Mesa.”

Stream “¿A Dónde Vamos?” by Morat

“Magia” by Alvaro Soler

“Magia” by Alvaro Soler

“Magia” is the latest album by Spanish-German singer Alvaro Soler. Soler catapulted into the spotlight for his single “El Mismo Sol,” released in 2015, off his album “Eterno Augusto.”

In “Magia,” Soler joined forces with Colombian pop duo Cali Y El Dandee in “Mañana” and with Spanish singer Greg Taro in “Diferente.” Soler doesn’t fail to produce catchy summer songs in Spanish. Our favorite singles from the album are “Amor Para Llevar,” “Hawaii,” “No Te Entiendo,” and “Despiertos.”

Stream “Magia” by Alvaro Soler

“KG0516” by Karol G

“KG0516” by Karol G

“KG0516” is the third studio album of the Colombian singer Karol G. The pop singer is known for her collaborations with other Latin artists such as J Balvin and Anuel Aa. In 2020, she reached new heights by working with American rapper Nicki Minaj for the bilingual track “Tusa.”

In “KG0516,” Karol G worked with many Latin musicians: Mariah Angeliq, Camilo, Anuel Aa, J Balvin, Nathy Peluso, Ozuna, Yandar & Yostin, Juanka, Brray, Ludacris, Emilee, Wilsin & Yandel, Ivy Queen, Zion, Alberto Stylee and Nicky Jam. Though very explicit for our liking, the songs demonstrate Karol G’s versatility.

Our favorites from the album are “200 Copas,” “Location,” “Gato Malo,” “Ay, Dios Mio!” and “Tusa.”

Stream “KG0516” by Karol G

Revelación by Selena Gomez

American singer and actress Selena Gomez has been very vocal in acknowledging her Latin roots.

In March, she dropped her first album in Spanish titled “Revelación.” This is the first time in a decade Gomez released her own work in Spanish. In 2011, she released “Dices,” the Spanish version of her popular single “Who Says.”

In “Revelación,” she worked with DJ Snake, her co-collaborator for the bilingual track “Taki Taki”; Rawr Alejandro; and Myke Towers. It’s an innovative and ambitious project, but it’s refreshing to listen to. Our favorite tracks from the album are “De Una Vez,” “Baila Conmigo” and “Adiós.”

Stream “Revelación” by Selena Gomez

“Hecho x Sebas: ¡Vamos de Fiesta!” by Sebastián Yatra

“Hecho x Sebas: ¡Vamos de Fiesta!” by Sebastián Yatra

In April, Colombian singer Sebastián Yatra released an extended play consisting of his existing hit singles. Included in the tracklist is “Runaway,” in which he enlisted the help of the Jonas Brothers, Daddy Yankee and Natti Natasha.

“Hecho x Sebas: ¡Vamos de Fiesta!” is Yatra’s fifth offering after 2019’s “Fantasia.” It’s an old release that has been repackaged to sound new. Our favorites from the album are “Por Perro,” “Runaway” and “Ya No Tiene Novio.”

Stream “Hecho x Sebas: ¡Vamos de Fiesta!” by Sebastián Yatra

“Déjà Vu” by CNCO

“Déjà Vu” by CNCO

“Déjà Vu” is the fourth studio album by the Latin American boy band CNCO, whose members are based in Miami. The said boy band is the winner of the first season of the Spanish-language singing competition “La Banda,” produced by Ricky Martin and Simon Cowell.

The songs from “Déjà Vu” are laidback and mellifluous. Our favorites from this new album are “Mis Ojos Lloran Por Ti,” “Solo Importa Tú,” “Por Amarte Asi,” “25 Horas” and “Hero (Spanish Version).”

Stream “Déjà Vu” by CNCO

Comments are closed.

0 %