EntertainmentNews

Rabiya Mateo Interviewed by Spanish-Language TV Network Telemundo

Rabiya Mateo
@rabiyamateo on Instagram

MANILA, Philippines — Rabiya Mateo, the Philippine representative to the 69th Miss Universe international beauty pageant, was interviewed by the Spanish-language television network Telemundo and FYI Network on May 13.

“In the Philippines, we have pageants all over the places …” said Mateo as she was asked if pageantry is the “pastime” in the country.

Watch the full interview:

Telemundo, which is owned by NBCUniversal Telemundo Enterprises, is the exclusive Spanish-language broadcast partner for the said beauty pageant. Telemundo is one of the two biggest Spanish-language television networks in the United States, along with Univision.

The 69th Miss Universe will be broadcast live on Telemundo on Sunday, May 16 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT in the United States and on A2Z on Monday, May 17 at 8 a.m. PHT in the Philippines.

Beauty pageants are “immensely popular” in Latin America and in the Philippines.

In 2015, Miss Colombia Ariadna Gutierrez was mistakenly named the Miss Universe winner instead of Miss Philippines Pia Wurtzbach.


Help keep La Jornada Filipina free
Donate today


Arvyn Cerézo
Arvyn Cerézo is the editor of La Jornada Filipina, the first and largest Spanish-language news magazine in the Philippines. His work has appeared in South China Morning Post, Publishers Weekly, AudioFile Magazine, PhilSTAR Life and Book Riot. You can find him on arvyncerezo.com.

Comments are closed.

You may also like